|
Join the conversation
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Join the conversation
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Manage Your Whatsapp Account Safely!

by Community Manager on ‎10-04-2019 11:35 AM

Hand Holding Phone.png

Scenario 1: If you are using a new mobile number

  • For those who are using a new mobile number, you may still see the previous owner’s profile and chat groups BEFORE activating your WhatsApp account.
  • Once you have created your own profile with your new mobile number, your new WhatsApp account would be secure and the previous owner’s chat groups would no longer appear on your screen.
  • The previous owner would NOT have any access to your WhatsApp account either.
  • If you are receiving a lot of messages from unknown numbers, you can choose to block those numbers.
  • They will not be able to send you messages, nor will they be able to see any of your status updates or profile picture changes.

 

Scenario 2: Exit WhatsApp Groups before mobile number termination

  • Did you know that WhatsApp messaging service has a 45-day policy before an account is deleted for inactivity?
  • If you have terminated your mobile number without exiting any of your WhatsApp chat groups, these groups would be visible to other people who would have received your recycled mobile number.
  • Protect yourself and your chat friends by exiting and deleting the chat groups before you terminate your mobile number.

 

Scenario 3: Changing Phone/Phone Number

  • Before you stop using a particular phone number, you should migrate your WhatsApp account to the new number. You can easily do this by using WhatsApp’s Change Number  feature.
  • Make sure that your new number is able to receive SMS verifications or calls and has an active data connection. Make sure that your old number is currently the verifired number tied to your account.
  • Make sure your friends and family delete your old phone number from their phone's address book and input your new number. It is common practice for mobile providers to recycle numbers, whereby your old number will be reassigned. This may lead to your friends and family messaging the wrong person after your old number has been reassigned.
  • You do not need to manually delete your old account. After successfully using the Change Number feature, your old account will automatically be deleted.